Swimming, Sipping, and Smart Yogurt

I went swimming with Heidi last night. Back and forth in the lane we went. Some guy was holding us up, but we respected his slow pace. He was just trying to live his life. Who are we to disrupt that? Anyway, we did a few kick laps so we could catch up on each other’s lives. We continued our conversation in the sauna. Man do I like that thing. Sitting in there made me miss Corinne. She’s the only person I’ve ever shared a sauna with until last night. I’ll think of her every time I swim at Helen Newman because of the nipple incident. What a life-changing occurrence. Back to Heidi. She’s going to join the Peace Corps next year. I couldn’t imagine leaving the country for that long and in a place that I didn’t necessarily want to go. Speaking of countries, look how cool this is. WordPress lets the blog owner see what countries their viewers are from. Yesterday was so international. I don’t even know anyone in Ecuador or Namibia right now…

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 12.11.58 AM

Peeking out my window and watching rain hit the ground bummed me out this morning. Getting to class sopping wet is not usually on my to-do list. Luckily, there was an attractive distraction sitting in the row in front of me. For real, if Ashton Kutcher and Taylor Lautner had a baby, this guy would be it. A little something extra to look forward to on Tuesday and Thursday mornings 🙂

After class, I met with my research advisor. He was pretty pleased with our progress so far. The next time we see him won’t be until October. Time is flying already! I also purchased a Third Eye Blind ticket for homecoming weekend. That should be a fun concert. My second class was pretty boring. I was texting Felicia for most of it. That little girl was in Syracuse this weekend and didn’t even bother to come visit me. Cool. I guess you don’t miss me that much. Makes me a little sad.

I was feeling real sleepy when my class was over, so I went to CTB to get some coffee. My coffee card was fully stamped, so my next drink was free! The cashier recommended the Chai Charger, and I took her advice. They didn’t give me my drink for a while. Turns out no one was making it. The lady felt bad, so she gave me a free drink chip. WOW! At this rate, I won’t spend any money at CTB for the rest of the week. I don’t hate it.

I happily walked back to Duffield to start working on my fluids problem set. Ugh. That thing sucks. I have a feeling it’s going to be my least favorite activity of every week. A guy I met last semester is in this class with me. He sat at my table and worked on the problem set for a little while. We got to talking about other things. He had three songs stuck in his head all day. One was a Jack Johnson song…I’m not too familiar with him. He asked what my plans were for after graduation and suggested getting married. He also told me not to take a composites class I’m currently in. It was his worst grade last semester. I thought he was really smart too. Shoot. Am I out of my mind? Can I really handle this workload? I don’t know if I’m smart enough for this. Character building. That’s what I’m doing.

I have the following picture saved to my desktop to make me happy whenever I need it, and lately, that’s been a lot. Isn’t this pup the squishiest?

Screen Shot 2013-09-05 at 7.51.10 PM

Shelby invited me to go to get froyo with her and her roommates. I suggested Smart Yogurt because I knew sharkbait would disapprove if I chose anything else. LOL I saw yogurt man and we talked about that time he came to the LLN for a party. Good memories. Anyway, I like Shelby’s roommates a lot! They seem like they’re fun to be around. They’re all male Ph.D. students who knew each other before coming here. We live pretty close, so I think we’ll be seeing a lot more of each other. Yay new friends!

Alright. I’m going to work on this problem set basically until it’s due. I need to reteach myself Matlab. This should be fun. Wish me luck!

P.S. Click these links if you like arms or if you want to know about love.

Leave a Reply

